En Vidrio

Dan Holden's Creative Writing

Do Better

My thoughts for the day, from a Facebook conversation…

We’ve always believed in spirits. Sometimes they were people, sometimes animals, sometimes mountains or stars, sometimes just divine wisdom passed on by people with special insight.

None of this is right or wrong, it just is. In fact there’s a study that suggests our brains are hard-wired to not only accept but thrive on this way of thinking. We have evolved into having spiritual conversations.

I think this is a good thing as long as we can accept different points of view and above all, avoid harm.

I have my own beliefs. I ascribe to the idea that we are spiritual beings having a human experience.

I also believe that a life well-lived needs no heaven: It is its own justification, its own validation, its own reward.

Even a “bad” or trivial or hard life is balanced by the good, of which we are all capable, as spiritual beings.

Some people need religion to see this. I prefer the park bench of spirituality.

Does this mean I believe a person who thinks himself a failure really is? That without a heaven, he has no hope of grace?

That’s not for me to say. Nor should I feel required to feed him that candy. Or this one. Or another.

I understand that we, as a society, feel a need to tell stories about things we can’t and don’t know. Many are satisfied just to pass on the stories of those who claim they do know.

I love telling stories, but don’t take me seriously. Most of the time it’s just fantasy.

I guess my point is, Why sit around and wait for redemption? Or worse, why dream up some plot for getting to heaven at the expense of others?

Redeem your own life, I say.

Do better.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2012 by in Creative.
